The Regional Development Council of Northern Mindanao (RDC-10) hosted the Science Nation Tour in the region during the Full Council’s 105th meeting held recently at the Mindanao Civic Center in Tubod, Lanao del Norte. Dubbed as “ Science Nation: Agham na Ramdam,” the tour is aimed at making the people see and experience how science affects their daily lives. Secretary Montejo of the DOST led the kick off activity.

In his welcome remarks, RDC-10 Chair and Lanao del Norte Governor Mohamad Khalid Q. Dimaporo expressed his  appreciation for the  DOST’s efforts in bringing the different science and technology programs to the region. He also recognized the use of science and technology as drivers of economic growth.  Secretary Montejo, in his message, also reiterated the DOST’s mandate to direct and coordinate scientific and technological efforts to ensure maximum economic and social benefits to improve the regions’ productivity.

The kickoff activity  included  presentations on various DOST programs and projects such as the Nationwide Operational Assessment of Hazards (NOAH) and one of its components, the Disaster Risk and Exposure Assessment for Mitigation (DREAM) – Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) project that provide LGUs with flood hazard maps showing the country’s major rivers that are frequent sources of flooding.  The DOST-Information and Communications Technology Office (ICTO) also awarded Certificates of Recognition to Iligan City and Kapatagan, Lanao del Norte for putting up Technology for  Education  (“Tech for Ed”) centers in their respective LGUs.  The “Tech for Ed” centers are cyber education centers that the DOST-ICTO aims to set up all over the country to make technical-vocational education and training accessible to all.

RDC-10 also recognized Region 10’s top LGUs in the 2015 Cities and Municipalities Competitiveness Index (CMCI) such as:  the Mambajao, Camiguin (No. 1 Most Competitive Municipality in the 3rd-6th Class Municipalities category); Misamis Oriental (No. 2 Most Competitive Province); Camiguin (No.10 Most Competitive Province); Cagayan de Oro (No. 6 Most Competitive City in the Highly Urbanized Cities category); and Jimenez, Misamis Occidental (No. 6 Most Competitive Municipality in the 3rd-6th Class Municipalities Category), among others.  Dr. Renato O. Arazo of the  MOSCAT was also awarded a Plaque of Recognition as National Awardee to the 2015 Ten Outstanding Mover of the Philippines.

With Governor Dimaporo presiding over the meeting, the Full Council  approved the Climate and Disaster Risk-Sensitive Regional Physical Framework Plan, 2013-2040 and the  RDC-10 Work and Financial Plan for 2016.  It also endorsed the construction of a boardwalk along Layawan River of Oroquieta City for funding under Energy Regulations (ER) 1-94; the Magsaysay Coastal Resource Management Project;  and the proposed inclusion of Mt. Malindang in the  United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization’s (UNESCO’s) World Network of Biosphere Reserve Sites.

The body also requested  the  DOE  and the Joint Congressional Power Commission to entitle host regions with power plants in highly-urbanized cities a 10 percent  share of the local shares of funds under ER 1-94. It also asked  the DPWH  to prepare sustainable urban drainage system master plans for Iligan and Gingoog Cities and the DOST-ICTO  to formulate an  ICT Roadmap for the Cagayan de Oro-Iligan Corridor (CIC) to become an ICT Hub.  Concerned agencies were also enjoined to consider the priority action areas in the 2014 Regional Development Report.

The Council also expressed support to the following:  (a) e-Filipino Technology for Economic Development (Tech4ED) Project;  (b) creation of an ICT Council in the provinces, cities and municipalities to promote economic development;  (c) Pinggang Pinoy and the 10 Kumainments information and education campaign to promote the Nutritional Guidelines for Filipinos; (d) Gender Responsive Economic Actions for the Transformation of Women (GREAT Women) Project;  (e) RDC-Private Sector Representatives’ 6th National Convention on October 14-16, 2015; and  (f) Indigenous Peoples’ Regional Summit on October 28-29, 2015.