Northern Mindanao (Region X)  congressional   representatives expressed support to the Regional Development Council (RDC X) endorsed budget proposals of 24 government agencies and eight  state universities and colleges (SUCs) in the region during the RDC X Advisory Committee (RAC) meeting on March 23  in Cagayan de Oro City.

In his opening message, Honorable Rufus B. Rodriguez of the 2nd District of Cagayan de Oro City, the lead convenor of the meeting, urged everyone to work together in ensuring that the proposed budgets requested shall result  to the development of Region X as it positions itself as the number one region in the country.

Presided over by RDC X Chair and Lanao del Norte Governor Mohamad Khalid Q. Dimaporo, the RAC expressed support to the RDC-endorsed budgets.  The agency budget  with an aggregate total of PhP94.334 billion was presented by the RDC Sectoral  Committee Chairs and Co-chairs. Mayor Maria Luisa D. Romualdo  presented  the requirement of the Macro and Development Administration Sector amounting to PhP1.393 billion with a share of  (1.5%); Ms. Emma A. Nieva for the Economic Development Sector’s, PhP4.315 billion (4.6%) ; Mayor Philip T. Tan for the Infrastructure Sector agencies,  PhP39.868 billion (42.3% ); and Mayor Nelieta Q. Noval for the Social Development Sector’ requirement of PhP48.757 billion      (51.7% ).

Some amendments and additional projects were also  proposed for consideration by the concerned agencies for FY 2016. The DPWH-X was asked to consider the following projects: the esplanade along Cagayan de Oro River, Macabalan-Puntod-Carmen and Cathedral City Hall; reconstruction and widening of Cagayan  de Oro port road; Balulang-Macasandig Bridge and Access Road; Macabalan-Bonbon Bridge and Access Road; Widening of Butuan-Cagayan de Oro-Iligan Road (Binuangan, Sugbongcogon, Kinoguitan and Medina in Misamis Oriental); and the preparation of a master plan to mitigate flooding in Gingoog City.

Various projects were also proposed for the  Misamis Occidental such as the following:   the Construction of the Clarin Drainage System; construction of the Ozamiz-Clarin-Tangub-Bonifacio-Don Victorinao (OCTBDV) Agro-Eco Tourism Hinterland Road;completion of  Bagacay-Gala-Ozamiz City  Road leading to Hoyohoy Highland Park, Ozamiz City; and construction of the Oroquieta-Sebucal-Don Victoriano-Molave Road for funding from the PAyapa at MAsaganangPamayaNAn (PAMANA) Program, among others.

The body also required all projects under the Health Facilities Enhancement Program (HFEP) to be implemented in consultation with the congressional representatives concerned. It asked DOH-X to allocate funds for the improvement/upgrading of the Hilarion A. Ramiro Sr. Regional and Teaching Hospital; NHA-X to allocate funds for the right of way acquisition for the expansion of Ozamiz City’s Labo airport and to consider housing assistance for Sendong victims from the formal sector (teachers, policemen and other national government employees)  as well as  additional funds to finish the housing projects for the informal sector; DSWD-X to increase the Conditional Cash Assistance (CCA) under the Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps); DA-X to appropriate bigger budget for cloud seeding; and  DOT and DWPH regional offices  to consider improvement/rehabilitation of roads leading to tourist destinations.

The body also endorsed the following proposals: (a)) rehabilitation works of the Pulangui IV hydroelectric plant reservoir; and (b)  port development programs and projects of the Philippine Ports Authority,  Port  Management Offices in Region X.

Present  among the congressional representatives were Honorable Rufus B. Rodriguez; Honorable Peter M. Unabia of the 1ST District of Misamis Oriental; Honorable Henry S. Oaminalof the 2nd District of Misamis Occidental;  and Honorable Jorge T. Almonte of the 1ST District of Misamis Occidental. Hon. Jose Maria F. Zubiri III (3rd District of Bukidnon), Hon. Abdullah D. Dimaporo (2nd district of Lanao del Norte), and Hon. Juliette T. Uy (2nd District of Misamis Oriental) were represented by their respective staff.