The Regional Development Council  of  SOCCSKSARGEN (RDC XII)  supports the   move to  sustain youth  volunteerism program in  the  area through  Resolution No. 91, Series of 2014.  Region XII  or SOCCSKSARGEN  is composed of  the provinces of  South Cotabato, North Cotabato, Sarangani and  Sultan Kudarat  as well as the  cities of Koronadal, General Santos, Tacurong, Kidapawan and Cotabato.

During the  48th regular meeting of the RDC XII,  Ret. Col. Celestino Desamito , a  Special Non-Voting  Member of the Council, pushed for the continuing adoption of volunteerism as a strategy for sustainable development through the implementation of the SOCCSKSARGEN Youth Volunteerism Program which  started  two years ago involving elementary school pupils and high school students.

“This   volunteerism  program  aims to  develop the students of Region XII at all levels into responsible individuals with a strong commitment to  help  achieve growth and development of their respective communities,” Desamito explained.

“The program  would  also  create  a broad-based movement, especially involving individual families and local communities with  dedication and enthusiasm to work in achieving  local and regional development  through volunteerism,” he further stated.

It  will  also enhance the partnership among Local Government Units (LGUs), Regional Line Agencies (RLAs), State Universities and Colleges (SUCs), the Boy Scouts of the Philippines (BSP) Councils in Region XII and RDC XII to pursue  the region’s development goals and objectives through volunteerism.

According to Desamito, the  program  will now be included in  volunteerism among college students in the region starting June 2015. The students will come from the  five  state universities and colleges (SUCs) in the region who are taking up the National Service Training Program (NSTP).

The participants shall undergo a modular training in their respective school campuses and an immersion in depressed barangays for an actual exposure to community living.

Aside  from  the  SUCs, the following  institutions shall be tapped to assist in the program’s implementation:  TESDA, DepEd, CHED, DENR, DILG, PNP and the Boy Scouts Council.  The LGUs  and civil society organizations/non-government associations shall also take active part in the implementation of the program.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) shall  be executed between and among these entities to properly execute the SYVP.  Desamito  as  the  SYPV overall coordinator  shall  update  the RDC XII  on the program’s implementation.

The NEDA Regional Office (NRO) XII  shall provide technical secretariat support to the program, particularly in  preparing   and signing of the MOU  and in facilitating the presentation of reports on program implementation to RDC XII